Race Recap: Shoes for the Shelter 5K

On Sunday, April 23, Violet ran in the Shoes for the Shelter 5K (sadly, Charcoal couldn’t make this one. Boo!). It was the day after a long run, but a fun race with gorgeous weather. The general re-cap is summarized below!

Registration Cost: This race cost about the same as most 5Ks in the area.

Packet Pick-Up: I picked up my bib and t-shirt (and dropped off a pair of shoes to donate!) at Canisus College’s athletic center on the day before the race. Parking was available, though it was a little tricky to get to the door that I needed. Picking up the packet was easy once I was inside the building.

Pre-Race: When I got there in the morning, parking was quick and easy in a nearby lot. I opted to park in a lot up the road so I would get to warm up a bit on my way to the starting line. There were markers for your approximate pace group. They asked runners to remove their hats before the beginning for the national anthem, and their were uniformed members of the campus ROTC (I think) there.

Course: This race starts and finishes near the Canisius College campus, going down to the Delaware Park area of Buffalo. All of the running was done on the road, with one lane closed to traffic. There were plenty of police officers and course officials on hand to help with traffic. Because this is Buffalo, NY, the course was pretty flat. There were a couple of little slopes. There was one water stop on the course.

Finish Line: The finish line was on a slight uphill! There was an announcer there, with a table where volunteers were handing out cups of water. There were also bananas.

Post-Race: I didn’t stick around too long after the race, but it looked like the post-race party mostly consisted of the water and bananas unless I missed something!

Weather: It was sunny and probably in the 60s.

Apparel: I wore shorts, a technical t-shirt from a previous race, and a 1/4-zip shirt. My all-important footwear included Darn Tough socks and Saucony Guide 9 shoes.

Leave a Reply

